This is the historic Dallas Gem Mine where the discovery of Benitoite was document in 1907. This is the only known location where gem quality benitoite is found making it among the 10 most rare gems on earth. The mine was later renamed the Benitoite Gem Mine by Bill Forrest and Buzz Gray who once owned it. The mine is located on private land and you must gain permission before visiting the property. The mine is located at 714870mE/4023720mN at 4540 feet.
Scroll to the bottom right section of the page for contact information about visiting the mine.
What the story failed to make clear is that Mr. Couch traveled up the San Benito River on the New Idria oil road. He went about 1 mile before he past the Florence Mack Mine on his way to Small's Camp, another 3 miles north, where the road forked. At the fork, "a very rough" pack trail continued up Eagle Creek (called Sawmill Creek today), and the wagon road continued west up a canyon then called Sawmill Creek (actually San Benito River headwater), to the ridge near the French Cabin at Agua Buena Spring. From Small's Camp, Mr. Couch took the wagon road for about 4½ miles where he made evening camp before beginning his prospecting the following day on the hillside just north of his camp.
Jim Couch initially thought he discovered a new kind of "blue diamonds" and samples were eventually sent to Dr. George Louderback at the University of California, Berkeley for confirmation. After careful analysis, Dr. Louderback determined that they had found a new mineral, which he named benitoite. R.W. Dallas filed a claim for the Dallas Mining Company in 1914. The Dallas Mining Company built a log cabin there that burned down in the 1951 fire.
Benitoite became the official gemstone of California in October 1985.
Louderback, G. D. "Benitoite, Its Paragenesis and Mode of Occurrence." University of California Publications
Dig for Benitoite
Copyright ©, 2005 Three Rocks Research. Updated December 10, 2013